NYTimes wants WHAT?!

So today in class we discussed the new paywall being put in place by the New York Times.  While the conversation generally drifted towards all the cool ways to get past the admittedly ineffective attempt to make their content paid, my cheap, cheap little brain kept drifting to the price.  I can stream as many movies as I want through Netflix for 8 bucks a month.  Most smartphone apps top out at a one time price of $3.00.  But to get access to the nytimes website on a computer alone is $15 a month?  An extra $5 a month for the app?  It makes me queasy just thinking about it.  I know I have the tendency to abnormally stingy, so I put it out of my mind.

Until I found this on BoingBoing this afternoon, originally from the Understatement.

Now The Economist and The Wall Street Journal are two highly respected publications who consistently churn out content.  They also both have an established paid subscription fee for their online content.  If you add both their subscription fees together, they equal $139 less than the annual NYT fee.

$139 is a lot of money.  I could buy a cheap netbook with that money.  And I could read the Economist and the Wall Street Journal.

The New York Times needs to get it together.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

